COMMUNITY - FORUMS - GENERAL DISCUSSION
Gold Sellers

In almost all MMO's there are people who farm and farm to sell gold(or the games standard currency) to impatient players. Most MMO's prohibit this because it allows players to buy gold instead of loot crates. With the absence of loot crates and the presence of finite resources and closed economies, will Soulbound Studios prohibit and ban gold sellers or will they allow players to do this?

2/15/2018 9:02:09 PM #1

I would have to go back to look for quotes. I believe it was stated they planned to 'actively discourage' sellers and buyers from doing so. Details on what that would involve I do not remember.

Governor of Fararo, In service to Duchess Hela and Duke Nimb Zephyr of The Anemoi and their TRM King Evelake Rhyne and Queen Lagertha Rhyne of Vornair. Join the Dance of Destiny because 'Winter is Coming.' Friend code: 3F53D0

2/15/2018 9:24:00 PM #2

First, I'm no developer so this is all theory based on what I think I know...

Short answer is no and yes.

I don't believe they are specifically "banning" gold farming as practice, but they are trying to set up an economic system that doesn't create a situation where it can thrive, as it does in other games. The finite economic system is the tool they are using to subvert this tactic. You can try to corner the market on product x, but the fact that it can and will run out, and most importantly, not just magically respawn, is supposed to be the brake on the engine.

We will all see if it will work.

In theory, if you kill "all the gophers" for pelts, the gophers will go extinct. And the price of the pelts will vary depending on their supply and demand. So if you push the limits of the system you can and will break it. And once it is broken, it is broken. And you, as players, have to live with the results. So with that in mind upfront, it may be in your own best interest to work as hard on keeping it stable vs. exploiting it for short term profits.