COMMUNITY - FORUMS - SOULBORN ENGINE
Extinction and Resource Depletion/Rarity/Quality

I am very new to CoE. I joined forums a little over a month ago, and backed in KS. So I am just reading and learning what I can and when. I listened Project Update #31.

It was mentioned that beasts can become extinct. I really like this idea, makes people care about the world around them.

I understand from my reading, resources will be plentifully, but, can you deplete all resources or kill off a species of beasts? If so, what would happen? I think of Valyrian Steel from Game of Thrones.

Also, one of my favorite things was in Star Wars Galaxies Online, was resource quality. Basically, one resource on one planet (in Elyria territory?) one day would be high quality, week later or next day, would be poor quality and would have stats. The better the stats, the better the crafted items. Such as buffs, heals etc. It would be very cool, if this game will have this or consider making resources have quality. Similar like diamond and precious metals have quality grades.

I think it would make crafted items, potions and clothing/armor have high and low quality stats. It would make crafting even more immersed.

Sample Image of Quality: http://oscan.net/images/screenShot0033.jpg

Friend Code: 8EF50C | County of Raðljóst | Grand Duchy Erzhalden | Kingdom Vornair | https://discord.gg/fKpyTZ

6/4/2016 12:59:13 AM #1

Hi Tenna, welcome to the community!

Well.. if all the ursaphants die, all the ursaphants are dead :) Because nothing spawns into this world, if a species goes extinct -- they're extinct. They won't be able to come back. Resources will deplete and superior ones will be discovered and new lands will open up for exploration... there's going to be a 10-year story plan, which means there'll have to be enough resources to accommodate that time-frame for the world to survive if people think ahead.