COMMUNITY - FORUMS - TECHNICAL SUPPORT
Possible security risk.

Hello.

I am not a programmer or anything like that. But today as i was trying to log in my account i noticed that if i write my mail address wrong the site immediately let me know that this email doesn't exists in your data base. This feature makes it totally easy to probe for email addresses. And since some ppl here have much more important accounts here its risky. My thoughts are that it would be much safer if you guys remove this feature, while is convenient, it is also risky.

Now if my thoughts are wrong please let me know and delete this thread.

Thx

4/18/2017 3:03:49 PM #1

It's a debated topic and there are good points on both sides. Honestly if I was going try to hack in by guessing a users email I would just brute force it anyway.

Telling someone an email does not exist in our system is a lot better than telling them it does. I really wouldn't worry about it.

ZRO

4/18/2017 3:55:24 PM #2

All they need to do is update the error message to say "that email and password combination are not recognized" and things get a lot more secure.

Avid wiki editor, with a special interest in categories, navboxes, and infoboxes.

4/18/2017 5:40:27 PM #3

Posted By Woogawoman at 5:55 PM - Tue Apr 18 2017

All they need to do is update the error message to say "that email and password combination are not recognized" and things get a lot more secure.

That is what i had in mind. just delete this post i see it was pointless for me to present my concerns.

4/18/2017 6:48:57 PM #4

I was actually trying to indicate my agreement with you. :)

Avid wiki editor, with a special interest in categories, navboxes, and infoboxes.

4/18/2017 7:01:33 PM #5

A couple thoughts:

a) Why would anyone want to hack an account here? What would they possibly gain for the effort?

b) What's the worst that could happen if an unauthorized user got into your account? I see absolutely nothing of value that can be stolen.