COMMUNITY - FORUMS - GENERAL DISCUSSION
This is my fantasy game made real - some thoughts

Hi All,

I was floored to learn about this game today. I spent the better part of the day devouring the dev journals and reading up on the planned features.

I have to say, I am really excited. I'm a veteran of Ultima Online and EVE Online, and a student of medieval and early modern European history. I love Crusader Kings 2 and always thought that a feudal dynasty simulator like CK2 combined with an MMO setting like EVE/Ultima would be the ultimate MMO. I often thought about how a dynastic system in a feudal MMO could be a really innovative reinvention of the MMO genre.

I've grown to hate the MMO genre for being a wasted potential - I loved Ultima Online for its immersive world of particular towns, item system, and deep potential for roleplay. I loved running around in UO, meeting different player groups and roleplaying. For some reason that game really engaged my imagination in a way no other MMO ever did. I love EVE Online for the the player politics, economy, and long-range goals of market/political domination combined with mass war fleet battles and drama. I ran my own corp for awhile and played the regional market (I play casually in Pandemic Horde now) - so I am attracted to games that allow me to set long-term strategic goals, build relationships with players and organizations, and become a pillar in the community.

This game? It combines these two desires in the very way I always fantasized. I have given up on the MMO genre on just being an awful hamster-wheel grindfest that I despise, and thought such a game would never come to pass. A massively online low-fantasy, feudal society simulator with dynastic family-line play, connecting marriage, property, offspring, and politics all together with players as been the GAME OF MY DREAMS.