COMMUNITY - FORUMS - NEW PLAYER QUESTIONS
Adventuring and Working

I couldn't find the answer to this question anywhere so I decided to make a topic.

How will players be able to adventure / complete the story while keeping their "jobs"?

For example, lets say I'm a baker and I, of course, have a bakery if I want to complete the story will I have to close the bakery? Another example, a king has certain duties. Who will take care of those duties while the king is lets say meeting another king?

I suppose you could pay someone to fulfill those duties, but wouldn't that person need to have the skill to do the job? If so, a farmer could pay another farmer to take care of his farm, but won't that other character already have his own farm to take care of?

Won't most people with the skill to do those jobs already be using those skills elsewhere?

12/3/2018 3:57:24 PM #1

Its possible to 'lease' buildings and parcels to characters. Basically you would let them rent a place to work. They are motivated to keep the shop in good condition so they don't pay fees and they even have motivation to upgrade the shop when they get the chance.

When returning you can stop leasing the land, although as you could imagine this may or may not have ramifications. I don't see most as being "bad" but "complicated". If its with an NPC it they could just move on to a new shop and place to live. With players who have grown attached to the land you might end up living and working together (perhaps build a family together?).

So the short answer is adventurers could lease their land or buildings for income and maintenance while they're away.

Oh and welcome to the forums mate!

12/3/2018 4:23:49 PM #2

Hello there Orioff.

If the baker in question wanted to go away on a huge journey, then part of his story may very well be selling his bakery and pursuing adventure. Or like Sagan said, lease it out.